CNA Talk

The CNA experience in Illinois…

How to avoid losing your CNA certification

After working so hard to achieve your CNA certification you wouldn’t want it to slip through your fingers over an incident that could have been avoided!  CNA training programs tend to run on the expensive side (anywhere from $500 to $1,500) and can take several months to complete. With this type of educational investment you should take care not to lose your certification. If your certification gets revoked…your CNA days could be over.

Possible ways you could lose your CNA certification:

  1. Not following HIPAA  (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act) regulations may very well cause the revocation of your certification.  HIPAA is a privacy act that protects patient information.  Your state department of public health takes patient privacy VERY seriously!  Do not share any information about your residents with your significant other or friends.
  2. Breaking health regulations as outlined by your state department of public health will also get your certification taken away. This includes following facility procedures, proper food handling techniques, and standards of personal hygiene.
  3. Abusing and neglecting patients will result in losing your certification.
  4. Being involved in any criminal or civil charges, your certification will at least be called into jeopardy.  Stay out of trouble and keep your record clean.  Enough said.
  5. Providing false information at the time of applying for the CNA classes and certification. You will be caught, your employer isn’t stupid.  Think you can get away with it?  Take a look at former Yahoo CEO Scott Thompson who was just fired for adding a little to his resume.
  6. Unemployed as a CNA for more than five years and you will probably need to be re-certified.  Be careful though, some states have smaller time periods that this.  For example, in Illinois you must work for at least eight hours as a CNA every two years in order to keep your certification current.  Yo may have to pass a skills demonstration,retake the Competency Exam, and/or go through the CNA program a second time if your certification expires.

Long story short, be honest and ethical, make sure you work as a CNA, and follow all the rules and regulations of your employer and state department of public health.

Are you a CNA in Illinois?  Check your status of your certification by visiting the Illinois Nurse Aide Registry.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “How to avoid losing your CNA certification

  1. Hi, I’m in a total mess right now. I’ve been a c.n.a. for almost five years now but just recently took a break and got out of the healthcare field but for little less than a year. Now I’m trying to get a job at a local nursing home and my card is showing inactive!! I looked up my information online and it shows my last job ended in March of 2012, so I called my ex boss and she informed me that it was NOT her responsibility to keep my c.n.a license updated but mine. Now comes the confusion, I’ve never had to do anything at any other of the nursing homes I’ve worked at to keep my card active, and my new job has informed me that my ex boss lied and it is her responsibility. I’ve tried calling the State of Kansas with the many questions I have but am getting to reply, my new job is trying as well with no results… So I suppose I most thought of question is should I really have to reapply for a renewal of my license and take expensive update classes for a mistake I didn’t make? I really don’t know what to do at this point…

    • Hi Angela,
      Wow that does sound like a total mess and I’m so sorry that you have to go through all of that! Unfortunately the best advice I can give you at this point is to keep trying to contact Kansas Department of Public Health. Because each agency is supposed to report all active CNAs to the Department of Public Health. My concern at this point would be, were you working under the actual job title of CNA? And was the company you were working for a reputable business?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

